My story.....

Dedicated to discussions and support for women suffering from hair loss.

Moderator: moderators

molecularblonde
Regular Poster
Hair Loss Type: Don't Know
Have you had a hair transplant?: No

My story.....

Post by molecularblonde » Sat Jul 01, 2006 5:47 pm

Hello-
I posted this in the general forum, but I thought I might also put it here for other women to see.

I'm a research scientist from NJ. Until last year I had a full head of blonde (chemically treated) hair. This is my story:

I've dyed my hair for over eleven years. I've never had a problem with my scalp or the loss of my hair.I could show you photos from last year and I had so much hair it looked like a wig! No female in my family has any hair loss.

I have a "type A" personality. I took up running last year. I was an avid runner, up to 30 miles per week. I was working a lot of late hours, substituting coffee as a meal. I wasn't eating a lot of protein. Basically I wasn't eating all that healthy but I was a good weight, 105 lbs at 62 inches. In the normal range for my frame. But I think the stress of my job got the best of me, and I sort of lapsed into "exercise bulimia". Running, eating poorly, skipping meals. Althought my hair began to look pourous and brittle it was still thick and plentiful. But all that changed.

This is the chain of events that occurred: one day, my hip began to hurt. It was awful pain- really sore. I thougth it was a muscle issue and took Advil and kept running. Turns out I had a stress fracture of my hip. At the same time, I was put on depakote for about two weeks, but it didn't work well for me, so I went back on Wellbutrin. At this point my hair was still fine. Dry and brittle, but fine.