LLLT and Minox use - OMG? JDP?

Discuss the use of laser therapy for fighting hair loss. If you're using a purchased device, or a laserbrush or helmet that you've made yourself, discuss it here.

Moderator: moderators

robster
Regular Poster
Hair Loss Type: Don't Know
Have you had a hair transplant?: No

LLLT and Minox use - OMG? JDP?

Post by robster » Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:02 am

Ive heard that LLLT opens calcium channels,minox is a potassium channels opener and has the opposite effect.

Ive been using minox for 8 years and have had minimal results with it (except when i used it with DMSO as in Oz Brew). Anyway im thinking of stopping minox, im not going to go cold turky on it but slowly reduce my use of it with LLLT. Can anybody else chime in as to why LLLT is not going to be potentially as good with continued minox use?

thanks,
Rob

hapyman
Prolific Poster
Hair Loss Type: Androgenetic Alopecia (Male Pattern Baldness)
Norwood Level: Norwood II

Re: LLLT and Minox use - OMG? JDP?

Post by hapyman » Wed Sep 09, 2009 6:29 am

I am not sure why it is bad for you but I stopped minox too. I recommend slowly weening yourself off of it though if you plan on doing it. I quit cold turkey and experienced some shedding. However things are turning around over the last few months finally.

NeverQuit
Regular Poster

Post by NeverQuit » Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:40 am

Robster,
To add to your post, as I'm looking to get off minox as well...I see we have 4 options:

1) Cold Turkey
2) Cut down the amount applied throughout "X" timeframe
3) Cut down on the days applied...through "X" amount of days.
4) Start by cutting minox out on LLLT days. Not sure if this would null out the "pottasium channel" theory your speaking of.

Any others?

Some thoughts:
If minox IS impeding the benefits of LLLT at what point does the LLLT kick in and minox out while your cutting back on minox. Or, would you have to get minox totally out of your system for LLLT to start working?

robster
Regular Poster